Ho Chi Minh City: where the old meets the new

CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (67)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (71)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (70)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (39)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (62)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (34)

CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (35)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (30)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (31)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (17)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (12)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (76)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (237)CAMBODIA-VIETNAM 2014 (74)

Everything is strange. Nothing is familiar.

Not even the hotel I stayed at when I was here just three months prior. Not even the taste of the same pho I ate everyday for the past days and the last time I visited. Not the same feeling when I haggled and bought from the same vendor at the night market. Not the same breeze that brushed my face when I sailed Mekong Delta.

That’s the magic of traveling to the same foreign destination – Ho Chi Minh City, that is — twice, thrice in a span of three months. Nothing is ever constant, even when the itinerary is the same.

Because Ho Chi Minh City is a romantic city where the old meets the new – the simplicity and tastiness of the food, the elegance and quirkiness of the structures, and the ornate and modern lifestyle of the Vietnamese.

It’s a strange feeling, really.

It’s like the city – where the old meets the new; I will miss myself at the moment, but really, because I will never be that same person again.

*Wasn’t able to take as much photos since I was traveling with my family who had no patience in waiting for me get the shots I wanted. Huhu. And it’s been a year, but my apologies for only blogging about it now.

About Kim Pauig

I enjoy taking photographs as much as I savor sleep.
This entry was posted in Personal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ho Chi Minh City: where the old meets the new

  1. Your pictures are so beautiful and vibrant!

  2. R. Callins says:

    Thank your for the virtual journey.

  3. rehanarais says:

    The pictures are beautiful!

  4. kaydesigners says:

    I soo much Love this family picture, wished to be part of it

Leave a Reply

